HomeGeneral KnowledgeSeven Wonders of the World

Seven Wonders of the World

All around the world, people are worried about the seven wonders of the world. Everyone has their own opinion and has made many lists. Some lists are for the new seven wonders, and some are for the ancient, but none is definitive yet. Here is the list of the seven wonders that is mostly agreed upon.

1. The Pyramids of Egypt

One of the most well-known and famous wonders of the world is the Pyramids of Egypt. These Pyramids of Egypt are built at Giza, near the modern city of Cairo in Egypt. These pyramids were built by ancient Egyptian kings. The biggest pyramid was built by King “Khufu, who was from the fourth dynasty. The estimated height of the largest pyramid is 450 feet; it contains approximately 2300,000 blocks, and the average weight of each block is 2.5 tons. According to scientists and researchers, these pyramids were built in 2680 B.C.

2. The Hanging Gardens of Babylon

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon are also known as the Hanging Gardens of Semiramis. Hanging Gardens of Babylon are also considered one of the seven wonders of the world. These are ancient gardens that are situated near the royal palace in Babylon and were supposedly built by Nebuchadnezzar around 600 B.C. to please his queen, Amuhia. In these gardens, the water was uplifted to terraces that rose up to 300 feet. The researchers and archaeologists are still working and searching for answers to unsolved questions about the construction mechanism of the Hanging Gardens of Babylon.

3. The Statue of Zeus at Olympia

The Statue of Zeus at Olympia is also considered one of the seven wonders of the world. The statue was a masterpiece of the Greek sculptor Phidias. It was approximately 40 feet high, plated with gold and ivory, and placed in the huge Temple of Zeus. This temple was destroyed in 426 BCE. The actual or original copy of the statue does not exist; its print may be available on a few ancient coins.

4. The Temple of Artemis

The temple of Artemis is also called Artemesium and is considered one of the seven wonders of the world. This great temple was built by king “Croesus” about 550 BCE. The temple was famous for its size and magnificent works of art, temple was destroyed in 262 CE and was never built again. This temple was situated at Ephesus, now in western Turkey.

5. The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus

The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus is also called Halikarnassos and is considered one of the seven wonders of the world. This shrine was built in the capital city of Halicarnassus in 353 and 351 BCE by Queen Artemisia II in memory of her husband. The Greek architect Pythius designed this building. The whole building was 125 meters long, with 36 columns and an almost square shape.

6. The Colossus at Rhodes

The Colossus at Rhodes was also called the Colossal Statue of the Sun God Helios, which was in the ancient Greek city of Rhodes. Colossus of Rhodes is also considered as one of the seven wonders of the world. It was made of bronze and reinforced with iron, was 105 feet high, and stood beside Mandrakion harbour. The statue of the Colossus at Rhodes was built in 12 years (294–282 BCE), but it was destroyed by an earthquake in 224 BCE.

7. The Pharos

The Pharos, also called the Lighthouse of Alexandria, is also considered one of the seven wonders of the world. It was the known lighthouse in antiquity; this lighthouse stood on the island of Pharos in the harbor of Alexandria on the coast of Egypt. It was built by Sostratus of Cnidus during the 3rd century B.C. and was more than 350 feet high. According to the researchers, the Pharos was built in three stages. The Pharos was destroyed in the 13th century by an earthquake.

Previous article
Next article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

error: Content is protected !!